Arunachal Pradesh attained its statehood on 20th February 1987. It is situated in the NorthEastern part of India with 83743 sq. kms area and has a long international border with Bhutan to the west (160 km), China to the north and north-east (1,080 km) and Myanmar to the east (440 km). It stretches from snow-capped mountains in the north to the plains of Brahmaputra valley in the south.
Arunachal is the largest state area-wise in the north-east region, even larger than Assam which is the most populous. Till 1972, it was known as the North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA). It gained the Union Territory status on January 20, 1972 and was renamed as Arunachal Pradesh. It is situated between latitude 26° 30′ N and 29° 30 ‘ N and longitude 91° 30′ E and 97° 30’ E.
At present there are 20 Districts and 1 Capital Complex, 31 ADC HQ (Ind), 11 SDO HQ, 25 EAC HQ 121 circles and 909 Blocks. Each district is under the administrative control of a Deputy Commissioner. Each Civil sub-division is under the control of an Additional Deputy Commissioner / Sub-Divisional Officer. There are 3863 nos. of villages (2011 census).



Male 7,20,232
Population Density17 persons per sq. km
Decadal Growth Rate 25.92% (2001-2011)
Infant Mortality Rate (IMR)37
Effective Literacy Rate66.95%

Source: provisional population census 2011