Arunachal Pradesh, situated in the north eastern part of India is nearly 84,000 sq km in area and has a long international border with Bhutan to the west (160km), China to the north and north-east (1,080 km) and Myanmar to the east (440km). It stretches from snow-capped mountains in the north to the plains of Brahmaputra valley in the south. Arunachal is the largest state area wise in the north-eastern region, even larger than Assam which is the most populous.

It is a land of lush green forests, deep river valleys and beautiful plateaus. The land is mostly mountainous with Himalayan ranges along the northern borders criss-crossed with mountain ranges running north-south. These divide the state into five river valleys: the Kameng, the Subansiri, the Siang, the Lohit and the Tirap. All these rivers are fed by snows from the Himalayas and countless rivers and rivulets except Tirap which is fed by Patkai Range.The mightiest of these river is Siang, called Tsangpo in Tibet, which becomes Brahmaputra after it is joined by the Dibang and the Lohit in the plains of Assam.

High mountains and dense forests have prevented intercommunication between tribes living in different river valleys. The geographical isolation thus imposed has led different tribes to evolve their own dialects and grow with their distinct identities. Nature has endowed the Arunachal people with a deep sense of beauty which finds delightful expression in their songs, dances and crafts.
The climates varies from hot and humid in the Shivalik range with heavy rainfall. It becomes Progressively Cold as one moves northwards to higher altitudes.Trees of great size, plentiful climbers and an abundance of cane and bamboo make Arunachal evergreen. Tropical rain forests are to be found in the foothills and hills in the east on the border with Myanmar. Northernmost border is covered with Alpine forests. Amidst the highly rugged terrain, there are green forests and plateaus.

At present, there are 25 Districts and 1 Capital Complex, 31 ADC HQ (Ind), 11 SDO HQ, 25 EAC HQ 121 circles and 909 Blocks. Each district is under the administrative control of a Deputy Commissioner also known as the District Collector. Each Civil sub-division is under the control of an Additional Deputy Commissioner / Sub-Divisional Officer. There are 3863 nos. of villages (2011 census).


Sex Ratio938 females to 1000 males
Population Density17 persons per sq. km
Decadal Growth Rate25.92% (2001-2011)
Infant Mortality Rate (IMR)37
Effective Literacy Rate

Source: provisional population census 2011