Upload your district profile here



  1. Deputy Commissioner                                           Ex-Chairman ex-officio
  2. Chairperson, ZPM                                                  Co- Chairperson
  3. Additional Deputy Commissioner                          Chief Executive Officer
  4. Superintendent of Police                                        Member
  5. District Medical Officer                                         Member
  6. District Disaster Management Officer/ FO             Convenor
  7. EE (PHED  )                                                           Member
  8. DAO                                                                      Member


Changlang District was created on 14th Nov 1987 by bifurcating from Tirap District. The nomenclature of Changlang has been derived from the local word ‘CHANGLANGKAN’ which means a hilltop were people discovered a poisonous herb used for poisoning fish in the rivers.


Changlang District is located in the south-eastern corner of Arunachal Pradesh. It has an area of 4662 and lies between the 26º40’to 27º 40’N Latitude and 95º11′ to 97º10’E Longitude.


The major tribes residing  in Changlang district are Tangsas, Singphos, and Tutsas. The Tangsa tribe is comprised of a number of sub-tribes namely; Muklom, Havi, Longchang, Mossang, Jugli, Kimsing, Ronrang, Mungrey, Lungphi, Longri, Ponthai, Sangwal, Tikhak, Yungkuk, Salieng and Thampang.

The Singphos occupy the plain foothills area of northern part of the district under Miao, Bordumsa and Diyun circle. The Tutsas live in the western part of the district Changlang and Khimyang circle. Other tribes who have migrated to the district are noctes (APST), Lisus and Deoris. The Tibetans, Chakmas and Hajongs has been inhabitant in this district as refugees.

So far the religion is concern each tribe has its own traditional belief and practices. The singphos are Buddhist by religion but still they practice their own traditional belief of their ancestors. The Tutsas and Tangsas believe in the existence of a supreme being called ‘Rang rah’. Besides they also believe in number of dieties and spirits.

The housing pattern of all the tribes is almost same. They have machang type of houses with single room having two Chullas. They cook and sleep in the same room. However, besides the indigenous house of the villagers and poor people, there are SP type houses and RCC buildings in the townships area and in some villages also.

The Tangsas and Tutsas have democratic form of social life. They do not have kinship system. All the village disputes are settled by the Panchayats i.e. Gaonburas.

The economy of the indigenous people is largely dependent on agriculture and allied activities. They also rear domestic animals like cattle, pig, goat and poultry birds. There are total no. 365 villages in the district.


The administrative set up of the district is based on single line administration, which aims to keep close co-operation amongst various developmental departments with the administration and thus work together for the speedy development of the area. Of the total area, the district is divided into 4 (four) sub- divisions, 16 (Sixteen) circle headquarters and 8 (Eight CD Blocks). It has 11 (eleven) nos of Anchal Blocks.

The Deputy Commissioner being the overall in-charge of the district maintains law and order with the help of Administrative officers and police force. The villagers have their own customary system in form of traditional village councils consisting of the Gaonburas and members.

Sub Divisions in Changlang District: (04 Nos.)

  • Changlang with Deputy Commissioner
  • Miao with Additional Deputy Commissioner
  • Bordumsa with Additional Deputy Commissioner
  • Jairampur with Additional Deputy Commissioner

Anchal Block in Changlang District: (07 Nos.)

  •  14/1         Bordumsa
  •  14/2         Diyun
  • 14/3          Miao
  • 14/4          Nampong – Rima Putok
  • 14/5          Manmao – Jairampur
  • 14/6          Khimyang
  • 14/7          Changlang

Circles in Changlang District: (13 Nos.)

  1. Changlang with Deputy Commissioner
  2. Miao with Additional Deputy Commissioner
  3. Bordumsa with Additional Deputy Commissioner
  4. Nampopng with Sub Divisional Officer
  5. Namtok with Extra Assistant Commissioner
  6. Jairampur with Additional Deputy Commissioner
  7. Kharsang with Circle Officer
  8. Manmao Extra Assistant Commissioner
  9. Diyun with Extra Assistant Commissioner
  10. Khimiyang Extra Assistant Commissioner
  11. Vijaynagar with Circle Officer
  12. Yatdam with Circle Officer
  13. Rima- Putok with Circle Officer
  14. Kantang with Circle Officer
  15. Renuk with Circle Officer
  16. Lyngok-Longtoi with Circle Officer

Community Development Block: (07 Nos.)

  1. Changlang CD Block
  2. Khimiyang CD Block
  3. Bordumsa CD Block
  4. Diyun Block CD Block
  5. Manmao CD Block
  6. Nampong CD Block
  7. Miao – Khagam CD Block
  8. Vijaynagar

International Border Block with Myanmar: (03 Nos.)

  1. Khimiyang
  2. Maio-Khagam
  3. Jairampur – Manmao

Distance of administrative centres from Changlang Headquarters:

Sl. No.PlaceDistanceMode of communication
 Changlang to Khimyang36 kmAPST
 Changlang to Manmao130 kmAPST
 Changlang to Jairampur90 kmAPST
 Changlang to Nampong105 kmAPST
 Changlang to Kharsang90 kmAPST
 Changlang to Miao112 kmAPST daily service
 Changlang to Vijoynagar (via Miao)269 kmAPST
 Changlang to Namtok56 kmAPST
 Changlang to Diyun (via Miao)149 kmAPST
 Changlang to Bordumsa105 kmAPST
 Changlang to Yatdam16 kmAPST
 Changlang to Rima – Putok120 kmAPST
 Changlang to Renuk146 km 
 Changlang to Lyngok-Longtoi120 km 

Physical Region:

The geographical region of the district has its distinct features. The place like Miao, Diyun, Bordumsa, Kharsang circle and few stripes of land in some parts of Changlang headquarter, are plain where as rest of the district is covered with hills. The altitude of hills varies from 200 m to 4500 m that generally slopes downward the northeast. The highest peak of the district is 4500m above sea level.

Climate, Temperature and rainfall

The climate of the district varies from place to place due to mountainous nature of the terrain. The areas located in lower elevation and in the valleys experience hot and humid climate in summer. The climate of the rest hilly areas is moderate and pleasant. The maximum temperature recorded is about 26.96 ºC and the minimum temperature recorded is 18.63ºC. The quantity of rainfall varies significantly at different places due to terrains. The average annual rainfall varies from 3800mm – 4866mm.


Upload your ddmp file here.. First upload then leave the link to the pdf here..